New Jazz Adds

By Dave Rogers

Ira B. Liss Big Band Jazz Machine – Tasty Tunes (Tallman): This is this West Coast big band’s fifth disc since their debut in 1994. Their program on the current disc is quite varied as well as interesting: standards like “You Don’t Know What Love Is”, Woody Herman’s “Early Autumn”, Rodgers and Hart’s “I Didn’t Know What Time It Was” and “Over The Rainbow” on one end and more recent songs like guest musician Bob Mintzer’s “When The Lady Dances”, Sonny Rollins’ “Oleo”, guest Dean Brown’s “Recon”, and Dave Grusin’s “Mountain Dance”. They even made room for Eden Ahbez’ “Nature Boy”.  The band itself includes Tyler Richardson, Malcom Jones, David Castel De Oro, Greg Armstrong, Ross Rizzo Jr. (saxophones); Gary Bucher, David Barnard, Carly Ines, Tim Hall (trombones); Randy “All World” Aviles, Mark Nicholson, Jeff Beck, Collin Reichow, Peter Green (trumpets); Steve Sibley (piano); Lance Jeppesen (bass); Alex Ciavarelli (guitar); Charlie McGhee (drums); Mark Lamson (percussion) and Janet Hammer (vocals). Eric Marienthal also guests on sax. The wide array of material makes this a rather unique performance.